East, Central and Southern African Health Ministers Recognize Life-Saving Role of Surgical Care

Health Ministers from  East, Central and Southern African (ECSA) regions have provided their support for a resolution recognizing the role of emergency and essential surgical care and anaesthesia as part of universal health coverage (UHC). The 60th East, Central and Southern African (ECSA) Health Ministers  Annual Conference "ECSA Health Community at 40: Strengthening Regional Cooperation for Better Health Outcomes" took place in Kampala Uganda from Feb 16-18, 2015 and brought  together Health Ministers from the ECSA regions. 

About the ECSA Health Community

The East, Central and Southern Africa (ECSA) Health Community is a regional intergovernmental organization comprising of nine member states namely Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The ECSA Health Community has been in existence for 40 years, with a mission of promoting regional cooperation in health among member states. The ECSA Health Community was established to foster regional cooperation in health and aims to promote the highest standards of health for individuals, families and communities through advocacy, capacity building, brokerage, coordination, inter-sectoral collaboration and harmonization of health policies and programs. The Secretariat, which is the implementing organ of ECSA Health Community, is based in Arusha, Tanzania.

About the Health Ministers' Conference

The Health Ministers’ Conference brings together Health Ministers and other senior officials from the Ministries of Health including Health Experts, Health Researchers and Heads of Health Training Institutions from the Member States of ECSA Health Community, as well as diverse Collaborating Partners in the region and beyond.  The Health Ministers Conference is the highest governing body of the ECSA Health Community. During this meeting the Ministers come up with resolutions that will guide programming of health interventions for ECSA Health Community member states in the coming year.

The discussions during this year's conference addressed five thematic areas:

    Universal Health Coverage

    Innovations in the Development of Human Resources for Health

    MDGs Lessons for Post 2015 Agenda

    Control of communicable diseases

    Prevention and Management of NCDs

The Ministers in the meeting were tasked with defining the region’s course of course of action and advising on the direction the ECSA Health Community and Countries to improve health service delivery.